Commission Names New Acting Executive Director

As was previously announced, in May of this year, COMTA said farewell to Executive Director, Kate Zulaski as she embarked on an exciting journey to continue her academic education and pursue many personal passions. After much deliberation and consideration about how to best support COMTA’s current operations and continued growth and evolution, the Commission has named Dawn Hogue, MA, LMT as Acting Executive Director, effective September 1, 2017. ​

Ms. Hogue began serving on the Commission in 2012 and has been in the Chair role since 2014. She graduated from the Cayce/Reilly School of Massage in 1996 and brings over 20 years’ experience in the massage/bodywork profession as a practitioner, educator and administrator. Prior to serving on the Commission, she volunteered as a peer reviewer for five years.  In addition to her work with COMTA, she is a current member of the Virginia Massage Therapy Advisory Board.  She is a 2005 graduate of Naropa University, where she earned a Master’s degree in Somatic Psychology and is trained in the Matrixworks model of leadership and group facilitation.

“I am honored to serve COMTA and our profession in this new role and look forward to advancing COMTA’s unique position as the only specialized accrediting agency recognized by the Department of Education for massage and bodywork and our mission to promote excellence in massage/bodywork and esthetics education.” Ms. Hogue can be contacted at – or by phone: 202-888-6790 x101.

With her shift in roles, Dawn resigned her position on the Commission, and the Commission is proud to name Cliff Korn as the new COMTA Chair. Cliff has served on the Commission since 2010, most recently in the role of Vice Chair. He has been a professional massage therapist since 1993 and is Board Certified in Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork and licensed in Florida. Cliff is a Past-President of the New Hampshire chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association and a past Chairman of the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork. Cliff currently serves as a Trustee and Vice President of the Massage Therapy Foundation. Mr. Korn can be contacted at

The Commission is also pleased to confirm that Angie Myer, MA, HHP, MT will continue serving in her role as Director of Accreditation, providing outstanding customer support, expertise in the accreditation and peer-review process and sincere dedication to the highest standards of educational quality. Angie is a valuable asset to COMTA and remains a strong, central foundation to its ongoing success. Ms. Myer can be contacted at – or by phone: 202-403-7852.

Related Posts