Commission School Actions – July 2017

July 17 & 19, 2017 Commission Meeting

Commission Actions

To view this information as a pdf, click here: COMTA Actions – July 2017

The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) has concluded its July 17 $ 19, 2017 Commission conference calls.  By action of the Commission, the following schools have received:


Initial Institutional Accreditation – July 2017 – July 2024

  • Zion Massage College  (St. George, UT)


Renewal of Programmatic Accreditation – July 2017 – April 2024 (less previous deferral)

  • Roane State Community College Massage Therapy Program (Oak Ridge, TN)



  • Institute for Therapeutic Massage (Haskell, Hackensack, Tinton Falls, Bloomfield, NJ)
    The Commission placed the institution on Probation for continuing conditions on Standards for Faculty Qualifications & Supervision, Financial Stability, and Title IV Satisfactory Approval, as well as failure to submit its 2016 Audit and sustaining fees.


Grant Length Extension:

  • University of Western States – Massage Therapy Program (Portland, OR)
    The Commission approved the program’s request for a one year extension to its current programmatic accreditation.  The program’s accreditation will now expire May 2019.  The additional one year will be reduced from its next grant of accreditation.


Please note:  Renewal schools placed on show cause, probation or deferral are considered accredited institutions.

For questions or additional information, please contact the COMTA office at or 202-888-6790.