COMTA shares Coalition Statement in Support of ELAP

Posted by: LaToshya Vaughn    |    Tuesday, February 4, 2014


Yesterday, the Coalition of National Massage Therapy Organizations (Coalition, members detailed below) shared this group statement supporting the Entry-Level Analysis Project (ELAP) in anticipation of the project’s publication later this month. The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation is pleased to support this project to move our profession forward.

ELAP is a research project initiated by the Coalition in March 2012. The project goals were to use data to define knowledge and skill components of entry-level education and recommend the minimum number of hours schools should teach to prepare graduates for safe and competent practice in the massage profession. After work was completed in December 2013, the project work group submitted two documents to Coalition representatives—The Core: Entry-Level Analysis Project Report (the Final Report) and The Core: Entry-Level Massage Education Blueprint (the Blueprint). These documents describe ELAP work group data analysis processes, procedures, findings, and recommendations for core learning objectives, outcomes, and teaching hours.

The Core: Entry-Level Analysis Project Report and The Core: Entry-Level Massage Education Blueprint will be available to download from on February 10, 2014. We’ll be in touch again on that date, and look forward to getting your feedback on the project as well.

If you have questions about this project, please contact Dr. Randy Swenson, COMTA Chair at or 202-895-1518.  

Coalition of National Massage Therapy Organizations includes:
Alliance for Massage Therapy Education (AFMTE)
American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA)
Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP)
Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA)
Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB)
Massage Therapy Foundation (MTF)
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB)

Download the text of the Coalition Statement here.


Thank you,

Kate I.H. Zulaski

COMTA Executive Director

Related Posts