February 2012 Alerts

Posted by: LaToshya Vaughn    |    Wednesday, February 8, 2012 7:00 am

February 1, 2012

To view PDF, click here

The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) would like to bring your attention to the following announcements:

1) The Appendix A.3: Fee Schedule was revised at the February 2012 meeting.  A couple of changes to Appendix A.3 Fee Schedule were recommended and revised.  The cost of an appeal hearing is more than the fee collected and our current fee of $5,000 is significantly lower than other agencies’ fees. The workshop fee was also changed to reflect that training will be conducted online rather than in person.  Please click here for more information and the revised fee schedule.

2) Effective January 2012, COMTA will no longer offer face-to-face workshops.  COMTA is pleased to partner with MaxKnowledge to provide on-demand training courses for career schools and programs.  Schools and programs applying for accreditation (both initial and renewal) will now be required to have at least one staff member per main campus and each branch location (if applicable) participate in the customized COMTA course beginning in February 2012.  Please click here for more information.

3) As of February 1, 2012, Mr. Gregory Harris resigned from the Public Member position with the COMTA Commission.  Many thanks to him for the dedication to COMTA over the past years.  The open Public Member position has been filled by the appointment of Ms. Wendy Weiner, a former Commissioner who had previously been elected to a Public Member position. Mr. Harris was also serving on the COMTA Executive Committee as the Vice Chair.  The Commission has selected Dr. Randy Swenson as the Vice Chair and Beverly Giroud as the third member of the Executive Committee.  Please click here for more information about the Commission. 

Be sure to check the COMTA website regularly for actions and alerts.  Please promptly inform COMTA if your school has a new email address. If you have comments regarding any of the schools on this list please write the COMTA office.  For additional information concerning this memorandum, please contact Kate Zulaski, Executive Director, at 202-895-1518, or via email at kzulaski@comta.org.  You may also email the chair of the Commission at chair@comta.org.

Related Posts