October 2013 Actions

Posted by: LaToshya Vaughn    |    Tuesday, November 12, 2013

October 16-18, 2013 Commission Meeting

Commission Actions

To view as PDF, click here.

The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) has concluded its October 16 -18, 2013 Commission Meeting. By action of the Commission, the following schools have received renewal of accreditation or deferral of accreditation (renewal schools placed on show cause, probation or deferral are considered accredited institutions):

Renewal of Accreditation – Institutional: 

(Accreditation Period October 2013 – October 2018):

  • Cayce Reilly School of Massotherapy (Virginia Beach, VA)
  • CenterPoint Massage & Shiatsu Therapy School & Clinic (Minneapolis, MN)

(Accreditation Period April 2013 – April 2018):

  • Cortiva Institute – Pennsylvania (King of Prussia, PA)
  • Cortiva Institute – New Jersey Wall (New Jersey, NJ)

Renewal of Accreditation – Programmatic

(Accreditation Period October 2013 – October 2018):

  • Northwestern Health Sciences University (Bloomington, MN)

Deferred Renewal of Accreditation – Institutional 

(Deferred the decision on renewal of accreditation until April 2014 and to extend the current grant of accreditation for six (6) months):

  • Cortiva Institute – Seattle (Seattle, WA)
  • Cortiva Institute – Federal Way (Federal Way, WA)

Change of Ownership/Institutional Control:

(The following school’s accreditation status will change to “Provisional”)

  • International Professional School of Bodywork – (San Diego, CA)

As described in the COMTA Policies and Procedures manual, page 7:

Provisional Accreditation – A continuation of a previous grant of accreditation for a limited period of time during which COMTA evaluates new information which may affect the institution’s/program’s ability to stay in compliance with COMTA standards. Provisional accreditation begins when COMTA receives written notification of the anticipated change and ends when the institution/program receives written notification from COMTA of the Commission’s action. A change in the control of an accredited institution/program automatically triggers provisional accreditation. Provisional accreditation is granted by either the COMTA Chair or the Executive Director upon initial notification of the change of control, and is subject to Commission ratification within 30 days. The Commission may modify the terms of or reject the provisional accreditation. Maintenance of provisional accreditation is contingent upon an institution/program’s following COMTA procedures and the completion of a site visit no later than six (6) months following the change in control. No Substantive Changes may be made during provisional accreditation. 

Administrative Accreditation Grant Extension: Programmatic

(This is an administrative extension of two years due to transitions occurring with the COMTA standards and online submission system, and will extend to April 2017.  This extension is only for programmatic schools)

  • Allegany College of Maryland – Therapeutic Massage Program (Cumberland, MD)
  • Baltimore School of Massage (Linthicum, MD & York, PA)
  • Community College of Rhode Island—Therapeutic Massage Program (Newport, RI)
  • Lansing Community College—Therapeutic Massage Program (Lansing, MI)
  • Roane State Community College—Therapeutic Massage Program (Oakridge, TN)
  • Virginia School of Massage (Charlottesville, VA)

Voluntary Withdrawal – Programmatic 

  • Utah College of Massage Therapy (Salt Lake City, UT) 
  • Utah College of Massage Therapy (Lindon, UT)
  • Arizona School of Massage Therapy (Tempe, AZ)
  • Arizona School of Massage Therapy (Phoenix, AZ)
  • Denver School of Massage Therapy (Aurora, CO)
  • Denver School of Massage Therapy (Westminster, CO)
  • Nevada School of Massage Therapy (Las Vegas, NV)
  • Texas Center for Massage Therapy (Dallas, TX)
  • Texas Center for Massage Therapy (Houston, TX)
  • Florida College of Natural Health (Pompano Beach, FL)
  • Florida College of Natural Health (Miami, FL) 
  • Florida College of Natural Health (Maitland, FL)
  • Florida College of Natural Health (Bradenton, FL)

Continued Probation:

  • East-West College of Healing Arts – (Portland, OR) – For details, click here.

Related Posts