Schools to Be Considered – April 2017



To view this information in a pdf, click here: COMTA – Schools to be considered – April 2017


The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) has prepared and published a list of the schools and programs to be considered at the April 18 – 19, 2017 Commission Meeting in Arlington, VA.

Accredited institutions, state agencies, the general public and other interested parties are invited to submit written comments pertaining to any school or program included on the Commission’s list. Comments should include information that will assist the Commission in making a decision regarding the accreditation action pending for a school or program. Any comments received will be forwarded to the school, which will then have an opportunity to submit a response to those comments.

Please submit written comments no later than April 1, 2017 to the Commission Chair: (No anonymous comments can be accepted for consideration).


COMTA Schools/Programs Being Considered:

Initial Accreditation

American Massage & Bodywork Institute (Vienna, VA) – Institutional

Makana Esthetics Wellness Academy (Honolulu, HI) – Institutional

Renewal of Accreditation

Center for Massage and Natural Health (Asheville, NC) – Institutional

Colorado Institute of Massage Therapy (Colorado Springs, CO) – Institutional ​- Deferral

Community College of Rhode Island – Massage Therapy Program (Newport, RI) – Programmatic

Institute for Therapeutic Massage (Haskell, Hackensack, Tinton Falls, Bloomfield, NJ) – Institutional

Lansing Community College –Massage Therapy Program (Lansing, MI) – Programmatic

Roane State Community College –Massage Therapy Program (Oak Ridge, TN) – Programmatic

The Rolf Institute of Structural Integration (Boulder, CO) – Institutional

For additional information concerning this memorandum, please contact Director of Accreditation Angie Myer at or (202) 403-7852.

Related Posts