Fall 2009 Actions

Posted by:    |    Thursday, October 15, 2009 7:00 am

October 2009 Commission Meeting
Commission Actions

View as PDF.

The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) has concluded its October 2009
Commission Meeting (schools placed on show cause or deferral are considered accredited

By action of the Commission, the following schools have been accredited, placed on show cause,
or revoked:

Initial Accreditation until October 2014
Sage School of Massage- Bend, OR
Siouxland College of Massage Therapy- South Sioux, NE

Reaffirmation of Accreditation until October 2014
Carlson College of Massage Therapy- Anamosa, IA
Cincinnati School of Medical Massage- Cincinnati, OH
Cleveland Institute of Medical Massage- Cleveland, OH
Cortiva Institute-Boston- Watertown, MA
Dayton School of Medical Massage- Dayton, OH
Dayton School of Medical Massage- Lima, OH
East-West College of Healing Arts- Portland, OR
Healthworks Institute- Bozeman, MT
Lakewood School of Therapeutic Massage- Port Huron, MI
Potomac Massage Training Institute- Washington, DC

Decision on Reaffirmation of Accreditation Deferred until April 2010
Academy of Massage Therapy – Hackensack and Jersey City, NJ
Ann Arbor Institute of Massage Therapy – Ann Arbor, MI

Appeal of Revocation in Process (school remains accredited during review)
Moore Career College- Baton Rouge, LA
Conditions on Accreditation Removed
College of Southern Nevada, Las Vegas, NV
Cortiva Institute – Boston
Cortiva Institute – Chicago
Cortiva Institute – Pennsylvania School of Muscle Therapy
Cortiva Institute – Seattle
Northwestern Health Sciences University, Minneapolis, MN

Change of Location
Blue Sky School of Professional Massage- Grafton, WI
Mississippi School of Therapeutic Massage- Jackson, MI

Extension of current term of accreditation
Body Therapy Institute- Siler City, NC (to be reviewed at the April 2010 Commission Meeting)
Community College of Rhode Island- Newport, RI (to be reviewed at the October 2010
Commission Meeting)
Florida School of Massage- Gainesville, FL (to be reviewed at the April 2010 Commission
Mountain State School of Massage- Charleston, WV (to be reviewed at the April 2010
Commission Meeting)
Roane State Community College- Oak Ridge, TN (to be reviewed at the October 2010
Commission Meeting)


Voluntary Withdrawal of Accreditation
BMSI, Overland Park, KS

Related Posts