Spring 2010 Actions

Posted by:    |    Monday, March 1, 2010 7:00 am

April 2010 Commission Meeting
Commission Actions

View as PDF.

The Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) has concluded its April 2010 Commission Meeting (schools placed on show cause or deferral are considered accredited institutions).

By action of the Commission, the following schools have withdrawn, were accredited, deferred, or completed a substantive change process:

Initial Accreditation until April 2015
Lansing Community College- Lansing, MI

Reaffirmation of Accreditation until April 2015
Connecticut Center for Massage Therapy- Newington, CT
Connecticut Center for Massage Therapy- Groton, CT                                                  
Connecticut Center for Massage Therapy- Westport, CT                                                  
Massage Therapy Institute of Colorado- Denver, CO

Renewal of Accreditation until April 2015 (Conditions to be reviewed October 2010)
Academy of Somatic Healing Arts (ASHA)- Norcross, GA
Allegany College of Maryland- Cumberland, MD
Ann Arbor Institute of Massage Therapy- Ann Arbor, MI 
Baltimore School of Massage- Linthicum, MD
Baltimore School of Massage- York, PA
Blue Sky School of Professional Massage- Grafton, WI
Blue Sky School of Professional Massage- DePere, WI
Blue Sky School of Professional Massage- Madison, WI
Body Therapy Institute- Siler City, NC
Mountain State School of Massage- Charleston, WV
National Massage Therapy Institute- Philadelphia, PA
National Massage Therapy Institute- Falls Church, VA

Renewal of Accreditation- Deferred until October 2010
Alexandria School of Scientific Therapeutics- Alexandria, IN
Florida School of Massage- Gainesville, FL

Continued Deferral of Accreditation Renewal – Deferred until October 2010
Academy of Massage Therapy- Hackensack, NJ
Academy of Massage Therapy- Jersey City, NJ

Continued Conditional Accreditation (to be reviewed October 2010)
Siouxland College of Massage Therapy- South Sioux, NE

Auxiliary/Branch Locations Approved
Cortiva Institute- Chicago (Crystal Lake, IL)- auxiliary classroom
Cortiva Institute- Chicago (Woodridge, IL)- branch campus
Lakeside School of Massage Therapy- Pewaukee, WI- auxiliary classroom

Extension of current term of accreditation until July 2011
Greenfield Community College- Greenfield, MA
(Massage Program will cease operation in June 2011)

Reinstatement of Accreditation until October 2013
Moore Career College- Baton Rouge, LA

Continued Deferral of Initial Accreditation- Deferred until October 2010
(Not Accredited)
Pura Vida College of Massage Therapy- Cedar City, UT



Voluntary Withdrawal of Accreditation
Cortiva Institute- Somerset School of Massage Therapy- Piscataway, NJ (only)- closed March 2010
Mueller College of Holistic Studies- San Diego, CA – effective March 2010
Trinidad & Tobago College of Therapeutic Massage & Beauty Culture- Trinidad, West Indies – effective April 2010

Planned Voluntary Withdrawal of Accreditation
Massage Therapy College of Manitoba- Winnipeg, Manitoba – expires October 2010
Synergy Healing Arts Center & Massage School- Blue Ridge Summit, PA – expires October 2010, school planning to close October 2010.

Related Posts